First female named PGA Teacher of the Year

Dennise Hutton has been honoured as the first ever female PGA Professional to be awarded the prestigious Teaching Professional of the Year title, following the PGA’s NSW/ACT Division Graduation and Awards at Manly Golf Club this week.

Hutton, who bases herself at Bardon Park and The Ridge golf courses, received the award in front of a room of her peers, recognised for her outstanding passion and dedication to improving the games of golfers of all ability levels.

Dennise Hutton PGA Australia’s Brian Thorburn with Dennise Hutton (Credit: Anthony Powter)

Having proven herself as both a player and a coach during her 25 year career to date, Dennise Hutton has achieved many firsts.

She was the first women to coach the NSW State Women’s and Junior Girls teams as well as the first women to coach the Australian team for The Queen Sirkit Cup and the World Team Championships.

During her career, Dennise has drawn inspiration from working alongside some of Australia’s, and indeed the world’s, best golf coaches including Billy McWilliam, Norman Von Nida, Alex Mercer and Bruce Green to name a few.

“Dennise is an outstanding Member of the PGA of Australia, and continues to pave the way for women not only in the PGA but in the wider golf industry,” said Brian Thorburn, CEO of the PGA of Australia.

“Women’s participation is one of the biggest potential growth areas for our game, and the continued success of role models the likes of Dennise will open up new opportunities for females who are looking to forge a similar career path within the Australian golf industry.”

In addition to her work in Sydney, Dennise also runs a number of golf schools, both interstate and overseas.

A former No. 1 ranked Australian women’s golfer, Dennise turned Professional after a very distinguished amateur career and went on to achieve many great successes including two victories at Australian LPGA Championship and wins in consecutive tournaments on the Ladies European Tour in 1989.

The other big award of the evening. the Club Professional of the Year, went to Jason Hart of the Shelly Beach Golf Club on the NSW Central Coast.

Other PGA Members recognised on the night included:

  • Matthew Stieger – 2012 NSW/ACT PGA Rookie of the Year
  • Matthew Millar – 2012 NSW/ACT PGA Player of the Year & Piranha Golf Order of Merit Winner
  • Richie Gallichan – 2012 NSW/ACT PGA Trainee of the Year

Among the clubs recognised on the night, Port Macquarie Better Homes Pro-Am was named Country Pro Am of the Year, Pymble Pro-Am was the City Pro Am of the Year and The Shearwater Landing Cronulla Legends Pro Am was recognised as the E-Z-GO PGA legends Tour event of the year.

During the evening the NSW/ACT PGA also welcomed 16 graduates who were inducted as full Members of the PGA of Australia.

Australian cricket icon Doug Walters was also in attendance on the night as a guest speaker.