Lee family set for battle at Greg Norman Medal

2018 Greg Norman Medal winner, Minjee Lee, and her European Tour-winning brother, Min Woo Lee, have been nominated for the top honour on the Australian golfing calendar.

The Western Australians will join Cameron Smith, Lucas Herbert and Marc Leishman in what is set to be a tightly-contested affair at tonight’s gala dinner ahead of the Australian and WPGA Championships in Brisbane.

Minjee Lee Minjee Lee won her first major title at the 2021 Evian Championship (Credit: LPGA Tour)

Already a winner of five LPGA titles prior to 2021, Minjee Lee enjoyed a breakthrough year on the LPGA becoming only the second Australian female golfer since Karrie Webb in 2006 to secure a major with her victory at the Evian Championship.

Lucas Herbert and Min Woo Lee took home their second European Tour wins in 2021 going back to back in July at the Irish and Scottish Opens respectively. However, it was Herbert, who then trumped his fellow countryman by winning his maiden PGA Tour title at the Bermuda Championship in late October.

Both players finished the year inside the World top-50 to earn a start at the 2022 US Masters.

Previous winners of the title, Cameron Smith and Marc Leishman round out the nominations. The pair won the Zurich Classic teams event in April before joining up together again at the Tokyo Olympics where Smith finished inside the top-10.

Su Oh, Hannah Green and Stephanie Kyriacou will fight it out for the WPGA Player of Year award with Kyriacou looking likely to take home the gong following a superb year on both sides of the Atlantic.