PGA Awards honour Victoria’s best

After years of dedication and hard work, a select number of members of the Victorian Golf Industry were officially recognised and inducted into the Hall of Fame and PGA Trainee graduates received full PGA Membership at the annual Victorian Golf Industry Awards night held at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Saturday night.

The evening saw John Davis, Bill Edgar, Mona McLeod, Brian Simpson and Ian Stanley inducted into the prestigious Hall of Fame, recognising their exceptional service to the golf industry in Australia.

PGA Australia PGA Australia

Hall of Fame inductee, Ian Stanley joined the PGA in 1971 and was a prolific tournament winner in Australasia. After turning 50, Ian joined the European Seniors Tour where he won three times including the Senior British Open Championship in 2001 and topped the Order of Merit.

“I am really thrilled and it’s a great honour to be included in the Victorian Hall of Fame with all the other inductees,” said Stanley.

“It is an achievement that I am very proud of and I will cherish it as one of my career highlights.”

Another Hall of Fame inductee, John Davis was awarded PGA Member of the Year in 2003 and was the Director, State Coaching Victorian Golf Association (VGA) for 13 years. He has been a PGA Member since 1954.

Brian Simpson commenced at the Victoria Golf Club in May 1973 and has been the Head Professional for 38 years, a position he continues to hold today.

Bill Edgar was known as Australia’s Bobby Jones in the 1930′s. He had the smoothest swing that never changed, so much so that he played off scratch or better for 39 consecutive years. His award was accepted posthumously by his biographer, David Worley.

Mona McLeod won the Australian Championship in 1921, 1926, 1927 and 1932, and was runner up in 1925, 1928 and 1931.

She won the Victorian title in 1921, 1926, 1928, 1932 and 1933, and was runner up in 1924. She was honoured for her trail blazing influence on women’s golf in Australia. Her award was accepted posthumously by Paul Rak, CEO of The Royal Melbourne Golf Club.

Along with the Hall of Fame inductees, both individuals and clubs were recognised for their achievements and involvement in the promotion of the game of golf, including Anthony Craswell who received the award for the CPM Bruce Green Victorian Club Professional of the Year, Steven Giuliano for Victorian Teaching Professional of the Year and Richard Chambers the 2011 Trainee of the Year.

The Victorian Pro-Am of the Year award (open prize purse) recognised Betstar Melbourne Golf Invitational Pro-Am and the hard work by the CM Ultimate Events team led by Managing Director Corey McKernan.

A well renowned former AFL footballer, McKernan had a stellar career that included two AFL Premierships and an AFLPA MVP. Upon winning his Victorian Pro-Am of the Year award McKernan stated that it was “right up there with winning my two AFL Premierships.”

“It is a tremendous honour to win the Pro-Am of the Year, and one which we are very proud of, especially in our inaugural year. There was a lot of time and energy spent on organising the tournament and we were thrilled with how well the event went,” McKernan said.

“The PGA of Australia was incredibly helpful, as was Woodlands Golf Club, and I want to thank them both very much for their hard work in helping us put together such a brilliant event,” he said.

Executive Officer of the PGA Southern Division, Nick Thornton congratulated the award winners and said it was a highly successful year for the Victorian Golf Industry.

“Congratulations to all the individuals and clubs who won awards. It is an honour to recognise their achievements and dedication to the game,” Thornton said.

Other Award Winners

  • Victorian Pro-Am Course of the Year: Yarra Yarra Golf Club
  • Victorian Pro-Am of the Year – $10,000 – $20,000 Prize Purse: getwinesdirect Heidelberg Pro-Am
  • Victorian Regional Pro-Am of the Year – further than 75km from CBD: 55th Border Open (Barham)
  • Victorian Regional Pro-Am Course of the Year – Further than 75km from CBD: Portarlington Golf Club
  • Victorian Order of Merit Winner: Ryan Haywood
  • Victorian Trainee Pro-Am of the Year: Mansfield Golf Club
  • Victorian Trainee of the Year – Year One: Jack Wilson
  • Victorian Trainee of the Year – Year Two: Toby Wilcox
  • Victorian Trainee of the Year – Year Three: Jess Bramble
  • Victorian Golf Operations Manager of the Year: Heath Jones

Victorian PGA Trainee Graduates

  • Adrian Barandowski
  • Benjamin Patten
  • Brent Westwick
  • Dane Manson
  • David Wallis
  • Haydn Thompson
  • Jacob Killeen
  • Jason Hession
  • Jessica Bramble
  • Luca Zanin
  • Martin Steel
  • Michael Fahey
  • Mitchell Thomason
  • Paul Steiner
  • Rhys Granger
  • Richard Chambers
  • Robert Dehne
  • Scott McDermott
  • Shane Butler
  • Timothy Hewitt

Golf Victoria Award Winners

  • 2012 Women’s Country Volunteer of the Year – Yvonne Boyd & Jan Conder (joint nomination) – Neangar Park Golf Club
  • 2012 Women’s City Volunteer of the Year – Coralie Cazaly – Kingston Heath Golf Club
  • 2012 Men’s City Volunteer of the Year – John Snowden – Mortlake Golf Club

Source – PGA Australia