Scott beats out Woods for Golf Writers Award

The year has barely started and Adam Scott already has a victory – albeit a psychological one, over world number one, Tiger Woods.

Australia’s first US Masters champion, Scott has beaten Woods in being named Player Of the Year by the Golf Writers Association of America (GWAA).

Adam Scott Adam Scott (Credit: Anthony Powter)

Scott topped Woods by five votes, joining South Korea’s In-Bee Park (LPGA) and American Kenny Perry (seniors) as winners on their respective tours.

“It was a huge honor to be recognised as the most consistent male golfer of 2013,” Scott said last week.

Of course the 33-year-old earned the honour with his mighty Masters win in April as well as a victory in August at The Barclays during the rich FedEx Cup playoffs.

Obviously members of the GWAA rated Scott’s major and one other PGA Tour win above Woods five wins for the year.

Mind you, they probably also considered that Scott capped his year off by also winning the Australian PGA and the Australian Masters as well as teaming up with Jason Day to win the World Cup of Golf at Royal Melbourne.

The women’s section was much more cut and dried with 25-year-old Park taking out the season’s first three majors – the Kraft Nabisco Championship, the LPGA Championship and the U.S. Women’s Open, winning six times in the season and easily taking the money-list title.

Perry, 53, had three wins on the Champions Tour, two of them majors, as he beat Germany’s Bernhard Langer to the player of the year award.