Web.com Tour makes mid-season name change

The PGA Tour has announced a new sponsor for the Web.com Tour, which takes effect immediately and will run through to 2028.

The 10-year agreement will see the consulting firm, Korn Ferry, who have offices in more than 50 countries and employs 8,500 people, become the naming sponsor of the newly created Korn Ferry Tour.

Korn Ferry Tour Korn Ferry Tour

The Korn Ferry Tour will continue to award PGA Tour membership to the Tour’s 50 leading players, including the top 25 from the Regular Season points list and the top 25 from the three-event Korn Ferry Tour Finals points list.

“We welcome Korn Ferry to the PGA Tour family with today’s announcement,” said PGA Tour Commissioner Jay Monahan.

“Our thanks to Gary Burnison and his team for a partnership that will promote Korn Ferry’s mission of helping people and organisations exceed their potential, collaborating with a Tour that has proven to identify the next generation of PGA Tour talent over the last 30 years.”

“We’re excited to partner with the PGA Tour. Our organisations are both all about talent – getting players and people to that next level and advancing their careers.,” said Korn Ferry CEO Gary Burnison.

“This sponsorship will further elevate our brand as a global organisational consultancy and extend awareness of our firm to new audiences around the world.”

During the PGA Tour’s 2017-18 season, eight players from the Korn Ferry Tour Class of 2017 won titles, including Aaron Wise, whose victory at the 2018 AT&T Byron Nelson was the 500th by a former Korn Ferry Tour player – a list that includes 23 major championships and eight Players Championships.

Four players from the Class of 2018 have won on the PGA Tour this season – Cameron Champ (Sanderson Farms Championship), Adam Long (The Desert Classic), Martin Trainer (Puerto Rico Open) and Max Homa (Wells Fargo Championship).

Other notable PGA Tour players who got their start on the Korn Ferry Tour include major champions Justin Thomas, Jason Day, Bubba Watson and Zach Johnson.