Day named as 2016 Greg Norman Medal winner

For the second year running world number one, Jason Day, has been recognised, with the Greg Norman Medal, as Australia’s best performing Tour Professional on the international stage.

Day becomes the only recipient of the coveted award after also winning the inaugural Greg Norman Medal last year.

Jason Day’s family hold the 2016 Greg Norman Medal Kim Day and Dening Day accept the Greg Norman Medal on behalf of Jason Day (Credit: PGA Australia)

2016 has been another stellar year for Day who has continued to dominate world golf in 2016 emphasised by his holding the top position on the Official World Golf Rankings continuously since March.

Day’s season was highlighted by three victories. He won the Arnold Palmer Invitational and the very next week the WGC – World Match Play. Day’s third victory came four starts and just seven weeks later at THE PLAYERS Championship.

In his title defence at the PGA Championship, Day finished runner-up which capped off a fantastic Major season where he finished top-10 in three of the four.

Day played 20 tournaments on the PGA TOUR in 2016, making the cut in all but one for 10 top-10 finishes including his wins.

Day, who was unable to attend the evening, appeared via video link with his mother Dening Day accepting the award on behalf of her son.

“I am incredibly honoured to win the Greg Norman Medal for the second year in a row,” said Day.

While the World Number 1 took out the Greg Norman Medal he was faced with strong competition from World Number 7 Adam Scott who won twice on the PGA TOUR in 2016 after having not missed a cut all season.

Flying the flag for women’s golf and a strong contender for the top honour was Minjee Lee. After proudly representing Australia at the Rio Olympics, Lee’s year was also highlighted by recording her third professional victory at the Blue Bay LPGA in China. This followed a runner-up finish at the Manulife LPGA Classic in September and her second LPGA Tour win in April.

The Greg Norman Medal Dinner also saw the introduction of a new honour with a Life Member being elevated to Immortal status.

The inaugural honouree was Peter Thomson, one of Australia’s all time greatest Professionals.

While his playing prowess has been strongly documented, his illustrious career featuring five Open Championship victories amongst 89 professional tournament wins has made him a household name for almost 70 years.

However it is his dedication to his Association that had the greatest impact on the industry. He was Chairman of the PGA for 32 years, which remains the longest tenure in this PGA’s history.

Complementing the pinnacle awards was the 2016 ISPS HANDA PGA Tour of Australasia Player of the Year, awarded to Adam Blyth, and the 2016 ALPG Player of the Year, which was awarded to Stacey Keating.

Head Professionals at Charlestown Golf Club, husband and wife duo Ryan and Janelle Smith received the honour of being recognised as the 2016 PGA National Club Professional of the Year.

Taking out the 2016 PGA National Teaching Professional of the Year award was Richard Woodhouse the renowned Director of Instruction at the recently opened KDV-Sport Academy of Golf in Queensland, where he works successfully with both amateur golfers and Tournament Professionals.

After winning his first Queensland Teaching Professional of the Year award in 2013, Woodhouse also received the honour in 2015.

Source – PGA Australia