McIlroy wins second PGA Player Of The Year Award

World number one and double Major winning Rory McIlroy has been named PGA of America’s Player of the Year.

It is the second time in three years McIlroy has won the prestigious award.

Rory McIlroy Rory McIlroy (Credit: Anthony Powter)

After winning three consecutive events during the summer, including two majors, McIlroy earned 160 points to easily claim the organisation’s top honour.

Reigning double Masters winner Bubba Watson was voted a distant second with 62 points, while the current US Open winner Martin Kaymer earned 52 points and American Ryder Cup rookie Jimmy Walker earned 46 points.

How McIlroy reached 160 points: 70 for three victories; 50 for two majors; 20 for leading the money list; 20 for winning the Vardon Trophy.

McIlroy’s adjusted scoring average of 68.82 in 66 rounds was slightly lower than Spain’s Sergio Garcia mark of 68.95 (61 rounds).

The PGA’s Player of the Year award is based on a point system for tournament victories, official money and scoring averages. Points are accrued from the Open to last Sunday’s closing Tour Championship.

On Monday, the PGA Tour released its five nominees for its Player of the Year award: McIlroy, Kaymer, Watson, Walker and Billy Horschel.

The winner, voted on by Tour members, will be announced before the start of the 2014-15 season.

McIlroy also swept both season-ending PGA awards in 2012, when he won a season-best four times, including the PGA Championship.