The awards keep coming for Shane Lowry

The awards rightfully continue for Open Champion Shane Lowry.

After being overlooked by the European Tour in favour of Jon Rahm for ‘Golfer of the Year’, Lowry has picked-up three awards in quick succession.

Shane Lowry Shane Lowry celebrates with the Open trophy (Credit: PGA Tour)

Last Thursday, Lowry was honoured by the Irish Golf Writers Association at their annual award presentation in Portmarnock with the honour – 2019 Male Professional of the Year.

Then on Saturday night in a Ireland-wide telecast, Lowry was handed the 2019 RTE Sportsperson of the Year honour.

Now Lowry has been honoured with the prestigious AGW Golfer of the Year honour, and an award first presented in 1961.

However, Lowry has topped the closest poll in recent memory to win the AGW honour.

The 32-year-old Irishman pipped Europe’s victorious Solheim Cup team by just two votes in a poll of AGW members after enjoying the best year of his career.

Lowry won his first major with a victory in the 2019 Open Championship at Royal Portrush amid emotional scenes in the event’s first staging at the County Antrim venue since 1951.

The Clara man also won the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship, a Rolex Series event, in January after firing a sensational 62 in the opening round at Abu Dhabi Golf Club.

“It is a huge personal honour for me to be voted as the 2019 Golfer of the Year by the Association of Golf Writers and it’s many members around the world,” said Lowry.

“To be chosen by the men and women who report on our game across the globe on a weekly basis is very special and it’s an honour to join the illustrious names on the Golf Writers Trophy, which includes many multiple major winners and Ryder Cup captains.

‘“I very much look forward to celebrating this award with all of the golf writers at the annual AGW dinner at Royal St George’s ahead of my Open Championship defence next summer.”

Lowry succeeds 2018 Open champion Francesco Molinari in receiving the Golf Writers Trophy. Other recent winners include Henrik Stenson (2016) and Rory McIlroy (2014 and 15).

The Golf Writers Trophy is awarded each year to the person or persons, born or resident in Europe who, in the opinion of a majority of the AGW members, shall have made the most outstanding contribution to golf during the preceding twelve months.

Members are asked to nominate in order of preference three choices for the award. Other players who figured prominently in the voting this year included Race to Dubai winner Jon Rahm and Rory McIlroy, a four-time victor in 2019.