You Be The Judge: Heartbreak or Hole-In-One?

Would the drinks be on you if you hit this shot and claimed it was a hole-in-one? Certainly it had tongues wagging around the world when a photo with an unusual scenario was posted on Twitter.

And it did beg the question, is a ball embedded in the side of the cup an actual hole-in-one?

Hole-In-One? Heartbreak or Hole-In-One? (Credit: Mick Coletta)

This may not set your mind as ease – or even answer the question – but it might help:

And it concerns Rule 13.2c named ‘ball resting against flagstick in hole’.

This might confuse you even further or have you calling for another angle of the actually shot, say at ground level.

Because if any part of the ball is in the hole below the surface of the putting green, the ball is treated as holed, even if the entire ball is not below the surface.

Still not certain?

This doesn’t help but a closer look at the rules suggests all of the ball must be below the surface to be deemed holed when embedded in the side of the hole.

When a ball is embedded in the side of the hole, and all of the ball is not below the surface of the putting green, the ball is not holed. This is the case even if the ball touches the flagstick.

If you still can’t work it out, then maybe listen to the words of USGA senior director of the Rules of Golf Thomas Pagel.

He explained: “When dealing with a ball embedded in the side of the hole, they are only concerned with the entire ball being below the surface of the green, even if part of the ball is outside the circumference of the hole.

“If the entire ball is below the surface, the ball is holed. If the entire ball is not below the surface, the ball is not holed.”