13 Aussies line up for British Amateur title

Thirteen Australians will tee it up at the British Amateur Championship beginning tonight at Carnoustie and Panmure golf clubs in Scotland.

Ryan Ruffels, Daniel Gale, Taylor MacDonald, Andrew Schonewille, Harrison Endycott, Anthony Murdaca, DJ Loypur, Zach Murray, Lucas Herbert, Brett Coletta, Kiran Day, Cameron Davis and Ben Eccles will carry Australia’s hopes of repeating Bryden Macpherson’s win in 2011 at Hillside Golf Club when he became the first Australian in 57 years to win the title.

Ryan Ruffels Ryan Ruffels (Credit: Anthony Powter)

More than 30 players in the World Amateur Golf Rankings top-100 also feature in the draw including five of the world’s top 20 including Ruffels, the reigning Australian Junior Boys champion, two-time European Amateur champion Ashley Chesters of England, 2015 Lytham Trophy winner Marcus Kinhult of Sweden, Austin Connelly of Canada and Mario Galiano of Spain.

The first stage of the championship involves two rounds of 18 holes stroke play, one to be played on each of the two courses starting Monday 15 June with the elimination matchplay commencing Wednesday 17 June at Carnoustie.

The 64 lowest scores and ties over the 36 holes will compete in the match play stage of the Championship. Each match will consist of one round of 18 holes except the Final which will be over 36 holes.

Last year Scotland’s Bradley Neil secured a 2&1 win over South African Zander Lombard at Royal Portrush.

For the Australian contingent last year’s British Amateur was a disappointing championship as just two players qualified – Cameron Davis and Geoff Drakeford – with Davis getting knocked out in the preliminary round and Drakeford progressing to just the second round before losing to Ireland’s Rory McNamara, 4&2.

The British Amateur Champion will earn a place in the 144th Open at St Andrews and the 2016 US Open at Oakmont Country Club in Pennsylvania. Traditionally, an invitation is also extended to the winner to play in the Masters Tournament at Augusta.