Aussies start well at Queen Sirikit Cup

The Australian team has made a promising start to the Queen Sirikit Cup, finding themselves in second place on 145 after the first round on the Garden Course at Tanah Merah Country Club in Singapore.

Western Australia’s Whitney Hillier finished with a solid 2 under par 70 while Victorian pair Breanna Elliott and Su Hyun Oh finished with 3 over par 75s.

Whitney Hillier Whitney Hillier (Credit: Golf Australia)

The Australians are three strokes behind defending champions Korea, who through Hyo-Joo Kim (69) and Kyu-Jung Baek (73), finished on 142 on the 5,669 metre layout.

New Zealand is one stroke behind Australia on 146. Malaysia, the Philippines and Indonesia are further stroke back on 147.

The championship is played over 54 holes Stroke Play with the best two scores in each team to count each day.

Australia last won the tournament in 2001. Korea has won the last four consecutive titles.

The championship is hosted annually on a rotation basis among 14 invited member countries with the objectives of promoting the standard of women’s golf in the region and to promote goodwill and friendship among participating teams.

Round 1 Leaderboard

142 Korea (Kim Hyo-Joo 69, Baek Kyu-Jung 76 and Park Chae-Yon 73)
145 Australia (Whitney Hillier 70, Breanna Elliot 75 and Su Hyun Oh 75)
146 New Zealand (Lydia Ko 69, Chantelle Cassidy 77 and Emily Perry 79)
147 Malaysia (Kelly Tan, Aretha Pan 76, Vivienne Chin 85), Philippines (Jayvie Agojo 71, Dottie Ardina 76, Lovelyn Guiguio 79), Indonesia (Ika Woro Palupi 74, Tatiana Wijaya 77, Victoria Chandra 85)
152 China (Shi Yatung 74, Yan Jung 78, Zhang Waiwai 79), Hong Kong (Isabella Laing 74, Mimi Ho 78, Michelle Chang 86), India (Aditi Ashok 75, Rakesha Phadke 77, Guirbeni Singh 79), Japan (Sahura Kito 75, Ahane Saiki 77, Yuri Matsuda 82)
154 Chinese Taipei (Wai Leng Han 76, Yu-Hsin Chang 78, Ssu-Chin Chang 81), Thailand (Suritee Thavong 76, Pinrath Loomboomruang 81, Supama Sanchang 82)
160 Singapore (Koh Sock Hwee 79, Amelia Yang 81, Fariza Izanie Zain 86)

Source – Golf Australia