Big names return for historic PGA tournament

This week’s Australian PGA Championship sees the return of former champions Greg Chalmers (2011), Geoff Ogilvy (2008) and Greg Norman (1984, 1985) as well as Darren Clarke and Rory Sabbatini as the latest internationals heading to Coolum.

The event has a rich history of providing some of the most memorable moments in Australian golfing history.

Greg Chalmers 2011 PGA Champion: Greg Chalmers

Peter Lonard is considered the ‘King of Coolum’ having won the title three times in six years with his last in 2007.

More recently in 2009 an emotional Robert Allenby claimed his fourth Australian PGA Championship title and dedicated his emphatic four-stroke victory to his late mother, Sylvia.

In 2010, Peter Senior toppled Geoff Ogilvy in a sudden-death play-off to win his third Australian PGA Championship title, an incredible 21 years after his first.

And last year in one of the most dramatic finishes in the tournament’s long history, Greg Chalmers, overcame four-time winner Robert Allenby and Marcus Fraser in a playoff, to claim the title only two weeks after winning the Australian Open.

With the way Peter Senior outlasted the field at The Lakes last Sunday another ‘double’ on the Australasian Tour is certainly on the cards.

The tournament will again be co-sanctioned by the PGA Tour of Australasia and OneAsia, with the Order of Merit Champion for both Tours to be crowned following the conclusion of Sunday’s final round.

The rumour mills had been working overtime in the lead up to the tournament with rampant speculation about this being the last occasion that the event will be staged at Coolum.

Unfortunately, the rumours were true and this will be the last PGA Championship at the Coolum Resort.

“We haven’t been able to reach terms with Palmer Coolum Resort, despite the best efforts of both parties,” Brian Thorburn, PGA of Australia CEO, confirmed on Tuesday.

The victor come Sunday will become part of Australian PGA history as the last ever winner at this iconic course.