Channel 7 to broadcast local free-to-air golf

Fans who have managed to stave off that expensive pay-tv subscription have reason to rejoice! Australia’s premier golf events will be broadcast live all summer and beyond, and what’s more, it won’t cost a cent.

In a new partnership with the Seven Network, the PGA of Australia and Golf Australia have confirmed a long-term agreement to broadcast the Emirates Australian Open and Australian PGA Championship for all to see.

Jordan Spieth Jordan Spieth will be one of the big names to play Down Under for the 2017 summer of golf (Credit:

The deal ensures Australian golf fans will have free-to-air access to watch both tournaments live for hours at a time, as well as see some of the world’s best players in action.

“We are thrilled that a long-term deal has been secured with Channel 7, a tremendous partner to all in Australian golf,” said Golf Australia chief executive officer Stephen Pitt.

“The Emirates Australian Open and Australian PGA Championship both have storied histories and our deal with Seven is the best way to ensure as many people around the world have the chance to be part of our rich history.”

The Emirates Australian Open has enjoyed excellent ratings in recent years, as well as attendance from some of the world’s best players including dual champion Jordan Spieth.

While the Australian PGA Championship will also serve as a gateway for the European Tour as a co-sanctioned tournament. The event will feature an incredible list of past champions including the likes of Adam Scott, Greg Chalmers, Peter Senior and Geoff Ogilvy.

“We have seen some enthralling finishes to the ISPS HANDA PGA Tour of Australasia,” said PGA of Australia and ISPS HANDA PGA Tour of Australasia chief executive officer Gavin Kirkman.

Tournaments in recent years included the marathon seven-hole playoff at the 2015 Australian PGA Championship and of course Jordan Spieth winning a second Stonehaven Cup when he prevailed at the Emirates Australian Open last year over our most recent PGA Tour winner Cameron Smith and Ashley Hall.