Fifteen players earn Aussie Q-school glory

Fifteen players have earned their Australian PGA Tour cards following the final stage of the PGA Tour of Australasia Qualifying School at Moonah Links on the Mornington Peninsula in Victoria.

DJ Loypur survived seven rounds across two weeks to top the the Q-School list and finish three shots clear of Jack Munro and secure Category 10 status for the upcoming 2022/2023 season in addition to pocketing A$10,000 in prize money to go with his enhanced status on tour.

Australasian PGA Tour Q-School Final Stage Qualifiers Australasian PGA Tour Q-School Final Stage Qualifiers (Credit: PGA Australia)

Due to the restrictions caused by COVID-19 the past two years, many of the playing categories have carried over from the previous season, making this year’s Q School even more challenging than in previous years. Add in the $1,870 entry fee and the pressure can be a real test of character.

The Australasian Tour is scheduled to commence in mid-October in Western Australia, and its reported that both the Fortinet Australian PGA Championship and Australian Open will be cp-sanctioned with the DP World Tour.

The top-15 players will start the season with Category Membership while players from 16-30 earn Full Tournament Membership status.

Players who earned Category Membership are DJ Loypur, Jack Munro, Andrew Campbell, Simon Hawkes, Darcy Brereton, Mark Hutson, Lachlan Barker, Scott Strange, James Grierson, Blake Proverbs, Kit Bittle, Jak Carter, Ben A Campbell, Jack Murdock and Corey Lamb.