Five Aussies attempt local Open qualifying

Five Australians are among a field of 288 players aiming to secure one of 12 places available to The Open Championship at Muirfield at four Local Final Qualifying venues on Tuesday, 2 July.

European Tour card holders John Wade, Matthew Guyatt, Daniel Gaunt, Scott Arnold and Matthew Zions will take part in the 36-hole qualifying event with dreams of adding to the eight Australians already exempt for The Open, headlined by Masters Champion Adam Scott, Jason Day, John Senden, Marcus Fraser and Geoff Ogilvy.

Scott Arnold Scott Arnold (Credit: Anthony Powter)

The most celebrated name joining them in local qualifying is recent Champions Tour debutant and Hall of Fame inductee, Colin Montgomerie, who is bidding for a third appearance in The Open at Muirfield and 22nd overall.

‘Monty’ celebrated his 50th birthday on June 23 and is taking part in the Senior Players Championship in Pittsburgh before a trans-Atlantic flight to Scotland to make his tee time at Gullane No. 1 on Tuesday.

The Open Championship will be staged at Muirfield from 18-21 July with the R&A recently announcing that total prize money for the Championship will be £5,250,000 (approx. AU$8.66m), an increase of £250,000 on 2012.

The winner will take home to £945,000 (approx AU$1.55m), up £45,000 on the winner’s cheque collected by 2012 champion, Ernie Els.