In-form Aussie trio named for Qatar battle

There’s talent to burn from the Australian ranks in the amateur teams chosen to carry our hopes in Qatar this week in teams involving the Asia-Pacific Golf Confederation.

Three in-form Australians Min Woo Lee, Shae Wools-Cobb and Grace Kim have all earned selection in representative teams following some stellar recent form.

Shae Wools-Cobb Shae Wools-Cobb (Credit: Anthony Powter)

Kim, 17, a Sydneysider joins 11 teammates selected to defend the Patsy Hankins Trophy against a European women’s team at the Doha Golf Club from March 8-10.

Meanwhile the Australian men will contest the Bonallack Trophy at the same venue as they attempt to win back the trophy that Europe managed to retain two years ago in Portugal.

Wools-Cobb, 22, from the Sunshine Coast, and Lee, 19, from Perth, are certain to be key players in a talented men’s team seeking Asia-Pacific’s first win in the biennial event since 2004 in Italy.

The men’s Asia-Pacific team is under the tutelage of Adelaide’s Gareth Jones with Melbourne’s Matt Cutler captain for the second time.

“I’m really happy with the men’s team we’ve selected,” said Cutler.

“We have a group of players that thoroughly deserve to represent our region and I know will give their all in the matches with Europe,” Cutler said. “I think the women’s team will also pack a punch.

“They did really well in the inaugural Patsy Hankins Trophy two years ago to keep Europe at bay and we again have a talented group assembled to defend the title.”

The events, played concurrently, feature two sessions of team play – five foursomes matches each morning and five four-ball matches each afternoon – on each of the first two days, then a day of 12 singles matches to finish on the third.

The winners of the respective trophies will be determined by the most cumulative matches won.

Lee, who won the United States Junior Championship in 2016 and in 2017 was runner-up at the Australian Amateur and more recently made the quarter-finals of the ISPS Handa PGA Tour of Australasia’s World Super 6 in Perth.

Wools-Cobb won the Northern Territory Amateur in 2016 and was a semi-finalist at the 2018 Australian Amateur in Perth in January.


Patsy Hankins Trophy
Grace Kim (Australia), Liu Wenbo (China), Du Mohan (China), Ya-Chun Chang (Chinese Taipei), Yu-Chiang Hou (Chinese Taipei), Yuna Nishimura (Japan), Riri Sadoyama (Japan), Seo-yun Kwon (Korea), Hae-ran Ryu (Korea), Yuka Saso (Philippines), Paphangkorn Tavatanakit (Thailand), Atthaya Thitikul (Thailand).

Bonallack Trophy
Min Woo Lee (Australia), Shae Wools-Cobb (Australia), Rayhan Thomas (India), Takumi Kanaya (Japan), Kazuya Osawa (Japan), Jaemin Han (Korea), Dong-min Kim (Korea), Daniel Hillier (New Zealand), Lloyd Jefferson Go (Philippines), Gregory Foo (Singapore), Sadom Keawkanjana (Thailand), Kammalas Namuangruk (Thailand).