Keperra Bowl kicks off in Brisbane

The Keperra Bowl is rich in history with previous winners including Marc Leishman (2005), Andrew Tampion (2006), Andrew Dodt (2007) and Matt Griffin (2008), all who have gone out to secure Tour cards on the world golfing stage, with Marc Leishman named USPGA Tour Rookie of the year in 2009.

The four-round stroke championship starts today at Keperra Golf & Country Club on Brisbane’s outskirts.

Jordan Zunic Jordan Zunic (Credit: Anthony Powter)

The defending champion Brady Watt will miss the event having gained a start at the Perth International. Watt’s absence at Keperra leaves open the opportunity for victory for a number of emerging amateurs in the 155 player field to secure a top-tier title.

This year’s field is not overly strong compared to previous years, reflective of the present status of Australian Amateur golf which is currently in a state of rebuilding. However, the additional international presence from Switzerland, New Zealand and the USA adds some strength to the tournament.

Yes, there are a number of up-coming local players like Western Australia’s Jarryd Felton, two-time winner this year, who should do well. Jordan Zunic makes his first main appearance following a car accident in the US and is always a threat in these events.

Queensland’s Taylor Macdonald will challenge and being the top-ranked world amateur in the field (43rd) certainly starts one of the favourites. The only other player inside the world’s top-100 competing this week is Felton, who sits at 91st following his fine run of form lately.

Ricky Kato will again have an opportunity to prove some form following a string of poor results.

Also keep an eye out also for Zach Mullins, who played well at the City of Sydney a fortnight ago. Mullins certainly has the game to take one of these events out, as does Aaron Wilkin.

Alex McCoy, winner at the City of Sydney International, should also feature well on the back of his first main amateur title and Callan O’Reilly also gets into the mix in these bigger events.

The 70 leading players plus ties will make Thursday’s third round with the championship concluding on Friday.

Last year, Watt closed with a 6-under-par, 66, for a 20-under-par total to win by five strokes over Queensland’s Viraat Badwar. Brett Drewitt finished in third position at 14-under-par with Cameron Smith three strokes further back in 4th position at 11-under.

Badwar is currently playing the US Collegiate series and will not attend, whilst Drewitt and Smith have turned professional.