Major winners flock to Women’s Australian Open

Fifteen major champions will take their place at next month’s ISPS Handa Women’s Australian Open at Royal Adelaide Golf Club.

The impressive figure means that more than 10% of the 144-player field in Adelaide will have achieved a victory at the highest level in world golf.

Hannah Green Hannah Green with the 2019 Women’s PGA trophy (Credit: LPGA Tour)

And that doesn’t even include World No. 3 and defending champion, Nelly Korda, or our very own World No.9 Minjee Lee, who has a superb record at this event and is surely a major winner of the future.

Leading the legends is seven-time major winner and World Golf Hall of Famer Karrie Webb, who has five Women’s Australian Open titles to her name, along with Laura Davies, who has amassed four major championships amongst her 87 worldwide professional victories.

Veterans such as Cristie Kerr, Na Yeon Choi and Jiyai Shin will line up alongside the likes of World No.1 Lydia Ko and our most recent major champion – 23-year-old Hannah Green as well as Korea’s most recent major champ, Jeongeun Lee6.

“This is another incredibly good field that has been assembled,” said Golf Australia CEO Stephen Pitt.

“Clearly the wonderful Adelaide golf courses and the overall vibe of the city at that time has been a winner for us with the players. We’ve had some record crowds and huge interest in recent years and we’re looking forward to pushing those boundaries again in 2020.’’

The ISPS Handa Women’s Australian Open runs from 13-16 February.