McGraw wins Queensland Men’s Stroke Play

Daniel McGraw (Gailes Golf Club) has won the 2011 Queensland Men’s Stroke Play Championship at Pacific Harbour Golf and Country Club, Bribie Island.

A third round of three-under-par (69) allowed McGraw to take a commanding six shot lead heading into the final 18-holes.

Daniel McGraw Daniel McGraw with the 2011 Queensland Stroke Play trophy

McGraw continued his good form in the afternoon and signed for a four-over-par 76.

McGraw’s four round total of 290 (+2) was enough to give him his first major win in his golfing career.

Overnight leader Dimitrios Papadatos (Toukley) found it tough in the morning round where he recorded four-over-par 76.

In the final round Papadatos closed with a one-over-par 73 to finish on 293 (+5) to take outright second.

Cameron Smith (Royal Queensland) made his charge early on the final day with a 71 (-1) in round three.

In the afternoon Smith signed off for a final round of 76 (+4) to finish outright third on 297 (+9). Smith compiled a strong day’s play but was unable to close the gap to McGraw.

Although the players experience inclement weather, the Pacific Harbour layout proved again to be a fantastic championship facility.

The top 16 players from the Stroke Play will now progress through to compete in the Queensland Amateur Championship (Matchplay) to be held at Arundel Hills on the Gold Coast from next Tuesday 5th May.

Top Scores

1 +6 Daniel McGraw (74-71-69-76 = 290)
2 +9 Dimitrios Papadatos (77-67-76-73 = 293)
3 +13 Cameron Smith (74-76-71-76 = 297)
4 +16 Sam Daley (73-74-74-79 = 300)
T5 +17 Tim Hart (75-72-80-74 = 301)
T5 +17 Blake McGrory (71-74-81-75 = 301)
T7 +18 Jake Higginbottom (78-77-77-70 = 302)
T7 +18 Maverick Antcliff (75-77-77-73 = 302)
T7 +18 Luke Marino (76-76-75-75 = 302)
T7 +18 Adam Mollis (72-78-72-80 = 302)

Source – Golf Queensland