Murray secures maiden Tour victory at Barbasol

Grayson Murray has added yet another name to the growing list of 20-something first-time winners on the PGA Tour this season.

On the same day Jordan Spieth (who turns 24 this week) won The Open, Grayson Murray secured his first PGA Tour event after capturing the Barbasol Championship at the RTJ Golf Trail at Grand National.

“It’s impressive,” Murray said. “There’s probably another dozen or 20 that could win it next week. Bryson (DeChambeau) won last week, Xander (Schauffele) won the week before, Jordan wins the Open today. Daniel Berger, Justin Thomas, Rickie (Fowler). Although Rickie’s kind of old compared to us.”

Berger, who won the FedEx St. Jude Classic, is already 24, as is Justin Thomas, who most recently won the Sony Open. Schauffele, who won the Greenbrier Classic, will turn 24 in October, a month after DeChambeau and two months after Spieth. A youth movement that started in 1993 seems to be taking over the PGA Tour.

Grayson Murray Grayson Murray (Credit: PGA Tour)

“I guess it just means we’re more prepared coming out of school,” Murray said. “We’re not afraid. I think when you see the success Jordan has had – he’s about to be 24 and he had his 11th win today on TOUR, three majors – that makes a lot of 22, 23-year-olds less scared, I think, because he’s done it all.”

“But I don’t compare myself to any of those guys because we’re all on a different timetable. Hopefully, I’ll get to 11 (wins) sooner rather than later but right now I’m taking it one step at a time.”

Murray won in just his 24th start with a one-shot victory over Chad Collins. The North Carolina native, who competed on the Tour last year, finished with a 21-under-par 263, a tournament record.

Cameron Percy fired four rounds in the 60′s to finish the best of the Australians this week in a tie for 12th place.

Robert Allenby was 27th alongside Brett Drewitt, who recorded a much-needed top 30 finish following a superb final round 62.

The Tour now moves north to Ontario for the $6,000,000 RBC Canadian Open.

Source – PGA Tour