No nonsense golf puts Rumford on top in Perth

Rumford was impressive without setting the course on fire; he gave an understated assessment of his 6-under 66 round.

“It was really nice, just a solid 33 front, 33 back, for a 66, that’s pretty much how the round unfolded,” Rumford said.

“No stretches of brilliance, just a consistent round of golf. I controlled the ball pretty much how I wanted it most the day and, yeah, I think the golf course is set up that way as well.

The West Australian said he expected to be run down after setting the pace early in the round but was only joined by Foster at the top of the leaderboard.

“Yeah, pleasantly surprised, come all this way and you don’t know what to expect, and obviously as the round went on it got better so I was really pleased,” Foster said after his round of 6-under 66.

Even though Foster is no stranger to the Lake Karrinyup course, a third place in the 2014 ISPS HANDA Perth International his best result, he said it’s playing differently to the last time he was in Perth due to the recent weather in Western Australia.

“The course was incomparable in ways it was playing. Actually I’ve got the same caddie as I had then, but I made a conscious decision that you couldn’t play the same way because it was obviously a lot softer so you had to play some different shots.”

Foster’s compatriot Robert Dinwiddie is in a logjam for third position alongside another two West Australians; Jason Scrivener, Daniel Fox and Stephen Dartnall.

Scrivener, who was third in the ISPS HANDA Perth International at Lake Karrinyup last year, jumped up the leaderboard thanks to a blemish free 18 holes and an eagle on the par-5 7th to accompany his three birdies for 5-under 67.

Fox meanwhile was pleased to turn his form around on the Lake Karrinyup course, matching Scrivener’s 5-under 67 with five birdies.

“Very stoked with that…the conditions this morning were scoreable and the course is very much gettable, so very pleased with 5 under.”

Also in a tie for third place are Adam Blyth (QLD), Sebastian Heisele (GER), Hideto Tanihara (JPN), Lucas Herbert (VIC), Casey O’Toole (USA) and Johannes Veerman.