NSW leads Interstate Series in Adelaide

New South Wales lead the Australian Men’s Interstate following the fourth round at Royal Adelaide Golf Club yesterday.

With fifteen and a half matches and three contests to the team’s credit, New South Wales holds the narrowest of margins from Tasmania, with the Tasmanians at fifteen matches and three contests to their credit.

Brett Drewitt Brett Drewitt from NSW in action at the 2012 Interstate Series in Adelaide (Photo: Anthony Powter)

New South Wales last won the series in 2007, the team’s third successive win after collecting the title in 2005 and 2006, and yesterday accounted for Victoria 4&3 to move out of second place following the opening day two rounds.

The series consists of singles match play in a five day round robin format, concluding with Friday’s final between the top two teams on match wins. The men’s teams consist of eight players contesting for a match point.

Wednesday’s third round produced some interesting results with Jake Higginbottom confirming why he is considered one of our most promising talents with a 4&3 victory over Nathan Holman in the top-order match between New South Wales and Victoria.

Brett Drewitt, playing number two for New South Wales accounted for Victoria’s Geoff Drakeford with a comfortable 6&4 win, while in the top-order match-up between Queensland’s Daniel Nisbet and Tasmania’s Ryan McCarthy, it was the Tasmanian that walked away with a stellar 2&1 victory.

Tasmania were the main movers for the second day after winning both contests against Queensland and Victoria to slide into outright second place. Nathan Gatehouse and Sam Rawlings were among the Tasmanians to go undefeated.

Queensland has dominated the men’s series in recent times winning the last two series and will need to produce something special to make the top-two teams to contest Friday’s championship match.

The defending champions are currently in fifth position with fourteen matches won, yet have just one contest to the team’s credit.

Western Australia rounds out the standings with eleven matches and one contest won.

Notable fourth round results also included Nathan Holman’s 3&2 win over Ryan McCarthy in the afternoon match, talented Western Australian Oliver Goss’ 1-up win over Jake Higginbottom, Brady Watt’s 5&4 win over Brett Drewitt and former test cricketer Greg Blewett, playing number five for South Australia, 3&2 win over Queensland’s Daniel McGraw.