Record number of entries for 2013 US Open

The United States Golf Association (USGA) has announced that it has received a record number of entries for the 2013 US Open Championship at Merion Golf Club in Ardmore, Pa.

The total of 9,860 entrants eclipses the previous mark of 9,086 for the 2009 championship at Bethpage State Park’s Black Course in Farmingdale, N.Y. Among the record total are 52 players, including 11 past champions, who are currently fully exempt into the field.

Adam Scott Adam Scott (Credit: Anthony Powter)

“The fact that we have a record number of entries, from across the world, is a testament to both the great appeal of the US Open and the historic nature and grandeur of Merion Golf Club,” said USGA Executive Director Mike Davis.

The US Open will be held for the fifth time at Merion on June 13-16. To be eligible, a player must have a USGA Handicap Index not exceeding 1.4, or be a professional. Local qualifying, which will be played over 18 holes at 111 sites in the United States, will take place between May 3-16.

Sectional qualifying, played over 36 holes, will be conducted at two international sites (May 27 in Japan and England) and on Monday, June 3, at 11 sites in the United States, ranging from New York to California. The USGA established two international sectional qualifiers in 2005.

Webb Simpson, the 2012 champion, and 10 other champions are fully exempt from having to qualify for the championship.

They are: Angel Cabrera (2007), Michael Campbell (2005), Ernie Els (1994, 1997), Jim Furyk (2003), Lucas Glover (2009), Retief Goosen (2001, 2004), Graeme McDowell (2010), Rory McIlroy (2011), Geoff Ogilvy (2006) and Tiger Woods (2000, 2002, 2008).

The number of fully exempt players will increase with the inclusion of the top 60 point leaders and ties from the Official World Golf Ranking, as of May 27 and June 10.

The winners of The Players Championship (May 9-12) and European Tour BMW PGA Championship (May 23-26) also receive exemptions.

A list of the 52 golfers who are fully exempt into the 2013 US Open follows (as of April 25):

Adam Scott, Angel Cabrera, Bo Van Pelt, Brandt Snedeker, Bubba Watson, Carl Pettersson, Casey Wittenberg, Charl Schwartzel, Chris Williams, Darren Clarke, David Toms, Dustin Johnson, Ernie Els, Geoff Ogilvy, Graeme McDowell, Hunter Mahan, Jason Dufner, Jim Furyk, John Huh, John Peterson, John Senden, Justin Rose, K.J. Choi, Keegan Bradley, Kevin Chappell, Lee Westwood, Louis Oosthuizen, Lucas Glover, Luke Donald, Martin Kaymer, Matt Kuchar, Michael Campbell, Michael Thompson, Michael Weaver, Nick Watney, Padraig Harrington, Phil Mickelson, Retief Goosen, Rickie Fowler, Robert Garrigus, Roger Chapman, Rory McIlroy, Ryan Moore, Scott Piercy, Sergio Garcia, Steve Stricker, Steven Fox, Stewart Cink, Tiger Woods, Webb Simpson, Y.E. Yang and Zach Johnson.