Rumford, Leishman join Open field at Muirfield

Australians Brett Rumford and Marc Leishman have been added to the field for the 113th Open Championship at Muirfield next week in further exemptions announced by the R&A.

Ten players – Richard Sterne, Mikko Ilonen, dual Open championship runner-up Thomas Bjorn, Marc Warren, Billy Horschel, Boo Weekley, Russell Henley, Jimmy Walker, Harris English and Rumford – won through to the Open on the back of their Race to Dubai and FedExCup rankings on the European and PGA Tours following the tournaments completed on Sunday.

Marc Leishman Aussies Marc Leishman and Brett Rumford have qualified for the 2013 Open Championship (Credit: Anthony Powter)

Leishman and seven others – Jonas Blixt, Martin Laird, Fredrik Jacobson, Graham DeLaet, Kyle Stanley, Chris Wood and Ken Duke – won through as the highest ranked non-exempt players in the Official World Golf Ranking at the end of Week 27 – 7 July 2013.

35-year old Rumford won twice in seven days on the European Tour earlier this year in the Ballantine’s Championship in Korea and the Volvo China Open and currently stands in sixth place on the Race to Dubai, with season earnings of €909,770.

29-year old Leishman thrilled us all in April, contending to the very end for Australia’s first Green Jacket along with Jason Day and eventual winner, Adam Scott.

Both players will be making their third starts in the Open with Rumford’s best result coming in his last appearance in 2006 at Royal Liverpool, when he tied for 16th. Leishman’s best result came in his first Open in 2010 where he tied for 60th.

Rumford and Leishman join fellow Australians Steven Dartnall, Jason Day, Marcus Fraser, Steven Jeffress, Brendan Jones, Geoff Ogilvy, Adam Scott, John Senden, Peter Senior and John Wade in attempting to become the fifth Australian winner of the Claret Jug and the first since Greg Norman in 1993.