SA announce state squads for Interstate

Golf SA have announced their state sides to contest this year’s Interstate Team’s Matches in Perth.

Jarrad Roxby (Flagstaff Hill) and Sarah King (Royal Adelaide) will captain the respective men’s and women’s teams, both of whom retain a nucleus of experience from last year’s senior Interstate Matches in Brisbane.

Roxby, who earlier this year regained his amateur status after a short stint in the professional ranks, is not short on state representative experience, having captained the South Australian side in the 2007 Interstate Matches in Tasmania.

The majority of the Men’s side remains unchanged, with Chris Brown, Tom Bond, Alex Hendrick, Anthony Murdaca (The Grange), Brad Moules (Royal Adelaide) and Chris Austin (Tea Tree Gully) all returning to the team. The solitary debutante in the men’s side is Sam Masters (The Grange).

In the women’s side, 2011 SA Women’s Amateur champion Sarah King (Royal Adelaide) is joined by Royal Adelaide Pennant winning team mates Caitlin Roberts and Megan Bleeze, with Kooyonga players Amy Zhou and Emma Ash and Mount Osmond’s Rachel Taylor making up the rest of the side.

While King, Ash and Roberts return from last year’s Interstate Series campaign in Brisbane, Bleeze, Zhou and Taylor are making their senior state debuts.

Zhou and Taylor will also benefit from the experience of having represented the State Girl’s side in Newcastle in April.

The full Men’s & Women’s representative squads are as follows:

Men’s Squad

  • Jarrad Roxby – (Capt – Flagstaff Hill)
  • Brad Moules – (Royal Adelaide)
  • Chris Brown – (The Grange)
  • Tom Bond – (The Grange)
  • Chris Austin – (Tea Tree Gully)
  • Alex Hendrick – (The Grange)
  • Sam Masters – (The Grange)
  • Anthony Murdaca – (The Grange)
  • Robert Crosby – (Team Manager)

Women’s Squad

  • Sarah King – (Capt – Royal Adelaide)
  • Emma Ash – (Kooyonga)
  • Caitlin Roberts – (Royal Adelaide)
  • Rachel Taylor – (Mount Osmond)
  • Amy Zhou – (Kooyonga)
  • Megan Bleeze – (Royal Adelaide)
  • Deb Christie – (Team Manager)

The 2011 Interstate Series will be played from Tuesday 13 September to Friday 16 September, with the Men’s series being played at Royal Perth Golf Club and the Women’s Series being played at The Western Australian Golf Club.

This year’s Interstate series will undergo a change of format, with team’s playing a round robin match-play series over the first three days of the competition. The top two sides after the round-robin matches contest both a foursomes and singles matches final, with a first consultation final being played under the same format by sides qualifying third and forth, and a second consultation final for teams qualifying fifth and sixth.

Source – Golf SA