SA field top juniors for Interstate Series

South Australia will field their most experienced junior state sides in recent years, with only two players due to make their representative debuts at April’s national Junior Interstate series in Queensland.

In the state Boy’s side, debutants Jordan Bishop (Kooyonga) and Lachlan Booth (Glenelg) will join the experienced lineup of Grange Golf Club trio Matthew Lisk, Anthony Murdaca and Jack Williams. and Thaxted Park’s Kieren Barratt.

Anthony Murdaca Anthony Murdaca (Credit: Anthony Powter)

The SA Girls side remains unchanged from the team that competed in last years Interstate series in New South Wales, with the Glenelg pairing of Christine Beasley and Elysia Yap teaming up with Kristalle Blum (Grange), Acacia Curtis (Wirrabara), Rachel Taylor (Mt Osmond) and Amy Zhou (Kooyonga).

Both sides have shown some solid recent form, and will be looking to improve on last year’s results which saw the Boys and Girls teams finishing third and fifth respectively.

For the Boys, Anthony Murdaca was victorious at this year’s Greg Norman Junior Masters on the Gold Coast and the SA Junior Masters at Royal Adelaide, while Matthew Lisk finished the summer junior series strongly with a runaway Junior Open victory at Kooyonga and Grange.

Kristalle Blum has been the standout junior female player of the summer, winning three Junior Open titles, while Elysia Yap continues to show promise with second placings at the SA Junior Amateur and SA Junior Masters. 

The Boys Interstate Teams Matches are played from 16 to 19 April at the challenging Pacific Harbour Golf Course on Bribie Island. The Girls Interstate Teams Matches take place at Carbrook Golf Club south of Brisbane from 15 to 17 April.

The full team listings are as follows:  

2012 Boys State Team

  • Kieren Barratt – Thaxted Park GC
  • Jordan Bishop – Kooyonga GC
  • Lachlan Booth – Glenelg GC
  • Matthew Lisk – The Grange GC
  • Anthony Murdaca – The Grange GC
  • Jack Williams – The Grange GC

State Coach – Gareth Jones
Manager – Tony Bourne

2012 Girls State Team

  • Christine Beasley – Glenelg GC  
  • Kristalle Blum – The Grange GC
  • Acacia Curtis – Wirrabara GC
  • Rachel Taylor – Mt Osmond GC
  • Elysia Yap – Glenelg GC
  • Amy Zhou – Kooyonga GC

State Coach – Jamie Clutterham
Manager – Karen Simmonds