Seven Aussies bid for Tour cards at Finals

With 25 cards on offer for the PGA TOUR’s 2016/17 season, seven Australians are among the 150 players teeing up at the first of four Tour Finals Series events in Cleveland, Ohio this week.

Taking their place in the DAP Championship field at the storied Canterbury Golf Club are Australian Open champion Matt Jones, 9-time Tour winner Stuart Appleby, Cameron Smith, Rhein Gibson, Rod Pampling, Cameron Percy and Brett Drewitt.

Brett Drewitt Brett Drewitt (Credit: Anthony Powter)

Only Drewitt will be chasing the dream of a first-time PGA TOUR card, the others having missed the Top 125 who qualified for the FedEx Cup Playoffs and are guaranteed a return to the Tour in 16/17.

The top-75 money winners on the Tour money list at the conclusion of the Tour Regular Season and players who finish 126-200 on the PGA TOUR’s FedExCup points list at the conclusion of the PGA TOUR’s Regular Season have qualified for the Tour Finals Series.

Additionally, any non-members who have earned enough FedEx Cup points based on their performance on the PGA TOUR to place them 126-200 on that points list also have access to the Finals Series.

Korea’s K.T. Kim and Thailand’s Kiradech Aphibarnrat are the highest profile and ranked players in the field who have entered under this category.

The 25 leading money winners from the Tour Regular Season, which for the first time in a long while did not include any Australian players, are already guaranteed PGA TOUR cards.

Another 25 cards will go to those players who earn the most cumulative money in the four Finals events.