Seven to televise World Cup of Golf in Australia

The Seven Network, Australia’s most-watched broadcast television platform, has confirmed an agreement for all-encompassing coverage of the World Cup of Golf to be played in November this year.

Seven’s agreement for the World Cup of Golf delivers all rights in Australia including free-to-air broadcast television, subscription television rights, and expands to Seven’s digital platforms including online, mobile and social media.

World Cup Of Golf World Cup Of Golf tickets go on sale (Credit: PGA Australia)

The World Cup of Golf will be played 23-27 November at Kingston Heath in Melbourne. The event – first played in 1953 – is one of the oldest and most prestigious global golf team events in the world.

The 2016 World Cup of Golf will be the 58th staging of the event. Names such as Sam Snead, Ben Hogan, Jack Nicklaus, Arnold Palmer, Lee Trevino, Nick Faldo, Seve Ballesteros, Tiger Woods, and Jason Day have all been able to call themselves World Champions.

Australia has won the World Cup of Golf five times. Jason Day and Adam Scott were champions in 2013.

Seven’s partnership with the World Cup of Golf builds on Seven’s coverage of The Australian Open and the Australian PGA Championship along with The Masters from Augusta. Today’s agreement also confirms Seven’s commitment to bringing major events to all Australians.

Brian Thorburn, CEO of the PGA of Australia and ISPS HANDA PGA Tour of Australasia and host Tour member of the International Federation of PGA Tours, said: “Seven is Australia’s Number 1 Television network and a strong supporter of Australian golf already, so the PGA is thrilled that Seven has secured the broadcast rights for the World Cup of Golf.”

“With the Emirates Australian Open the week before and the Australian PGA Championship the week after the World Cup, Australian golf fans can look forward to watching three consecutive weeks of world class golf on Channel Seven.”

The 2016 World Cup of Golf will mark the fifth time in the tournament’s history that it will be played in Australia and the first at any course other than Royal Melbourne.

Previous World Cup of Golf events in Australia

  • 1959 Australia (Peter Thomson/Kel Nagle)
  • 1972 Chinese Taipei (Hsieh Min-Nan/Lu Liang-Huan)
  • 1988 United States (Ben Crenshaw/Mark McCumber)
  • 2013 Australia (Jason Day/Adam Scott)