Smith shares six-way opening lead at Memorial

Australia’s Cameron Smith has made an impressive run at the Memorial Tournament this morning, taking a share of the opening round lead at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Ohio.

Smith, who has played just handful of tournaments since his breakthrough win at the Players Championship in March, fired seven birdies and two bogeys to lie in a six-way tie on 5-under 67.

Cameron Smith Cameron Smith (Credit: PGA Tour)

Smith’s record at The Memorial is one of his worst on Tour with the Queenslander never finishing better than T65 since his debut in 2015 and missing the cut on four of the six occasions he has played the event.

“I think I’ve had good and bad weeks in the past. I feel as though I’ve just done a little bit of extra work at home this year, really staying on top of a couple of technique things. And it’s allowed me to free up out here and just play like a kid, hit different shots into the greens and make birdies,” said Smith.

“I just need to stay on top of a few things. I think just really stay on top of my driver, my irons feel really good. Just need to keep hitting fairways and keep contending.”

Smith lies one shot ahead of a group of four in 7th place that includes Will Zalatoris, who has done everything but win this season. The 25-year-old has two runner-up finishes including the recent PGA Championship and five other top-7 results.

Masters champ Hideki Matsuyama was disqualified in unusual circumstances after he was pulled up by rules officials for having a “Liquid Paper-like” substance on his driver face. Matsuyama was spoken to after using the club on his first hole before being notified of his disqualification officially on the 10th tee leaving playing partners, Rory McIlroy (T21) and Patrick Reed (T96) to play as a twosome.

Adam Scott, who finished runner-up behind Patrick Cantlay here in 2019, and Lucas Herbert are next best of the Aussies in a share of 21st place on 2-under.

Jason Day and Cam Davis are another stroke back on 1-under while Marc Leishman (T71), Matt Jones (T84), Jed Morgan (T96), Min Woo Lee (T106) and Curtis Luck (T112) round out the rest of the Down Under field.