Southern, Yarra Yarra in Pennants final

The Melbourne Metropolitan Pennant Finals series will be contested this weekend across various venues with the Division 1 Men’s final seeing defending champions Yarra Yarra and Southern going head to head for the prized top-order flag at Royal Melbourne’s West course.

Yarra Yarra is seeking to win its 10th Division 1 flag following its 4&3 victory over Commonwealth last year which added to the club’s win in 2007.

Ryan Woodward Ryan Woodward (Credit: Anthony Powter)

Southern last won the Division 1 flag in 2003 and during the 1960’s was the dominant in these series with Division 1 wins in 1960, ‘63, ‘67, and ‘68. The Club last won the prized top-order flag in 2003 and has eight Division 1 flags after being Division 2 flag title holders last year.

Both teams are battle hardened following a seven week season in arguably the strongest pennant series in the nation where forty-six clubs are separated into six divisions, the largest inter-club competition in Australia.

The Yarra Yarra line up is impressive and exhibits a wealth of experience as well as a number of players in their 2012 winning side.

Peter Woodward, the team’s stalwart having collected 116 pennant matches for Yarra Yarra, will call on all his year’s of experience for Sunday’s final along with Ian Susic, who is the second most capped player for Yarra Yarra with 47 pennant matches.

Queensland’s Taylor McDonald has played the top-order position for Yarra Yarra supported by Vaughan McCall and Andy Roberts.

McDonald secured a vital 4th round win over Waverley’s Brady Watt to give Yarra Yarra a 4&3 win, whilst Mc Call has played pivotal roles with a 1st round 1-up win over Lukas Michel from Metropolitan which got Yarra Yarra narrowly across the line with a 4&3 win.

Ryan Woodward, James Betts, Andrew Schonewille and David Shimmin all played pivotal parts in getting Yarra Yarra to its second consecutive Division 1 final.

Yarra Yarra enters Sunday’s final with five contests won with wins over Metropolitan, Woodlands and Waverley.

Arguably Yarra Yarra will have the upper hand on Sunday against Southern as when the teams last met in Round 6, Yarra Yarra secured a 4&3 victory.

This was the only defeat for Southern in the series after solid wins over Waverley, Sanctuary Lakes, and Woodlands.

The Southern line up includes Rory Bourke, Ben Hollis, Jack Besley, Lachlan Cain, Tom Cowie, Matthew Long, Alexander McCoy and Matthew Elis.

With the relegation format Waverley, the 2010 champions, and Sanctuary Lakes will move to Division 2 for the 2014 season with Cheltenham and Victoria are promoted to Division 1 and contesting this weekend for the Division 2 flag.

Division 3 sees Kooringal and Long Island doing battle at Patterson River Country Club, Division 4 has Rossdale and Huntingdale playing at Yarra Yarra, Division 5 will have Patterson River against Eynesbury at Latrobe Golf Club.

Melton Valley and Churchill Park will contest the 2013 Division 6 Men’s Pennant final at the Patterson River Country Club.