Stieger eyes third title at WA Amateur

Matt Stieger is on the verge of collecting another major amateur title to add to his Australian and Tasmanian Amateur Championship crowns when he meets Ray Chow in the 36-hole final of 2011 Western Australian Amateur Championship being played at Melville Glades Golf Club in Perth.

Stieger currently sits inside the world’s top-20 at 18 and is Australia’s top ranked world amateur.

Matt Stieger Matt Stieger (Credit: Snaperture Sports)

Stieger plays out the St Michael’s Golf Club in eastern Sydney and is coached by John Serhan. He commenced playing golf as a 10-year-old around Bellata Golf Club in Narrabri before moving to Sydney.

At the last National Trial Selection event in Melbourne Stieger finished runner-up at the Riversdale Cup after a 3-hole play-off with Nathan Holman and was also semi-finalist at the New South Wales Amateur.

The 1-up win over New Zealand’s Ben Campbell at the Australian Amateur Championship at Victoria Golf Club promoted Stieger to Tier-1 in the National Squad to be one of two players at that level along with Ryan McCarthy.

Stieger qualified as the number 3 seed for the match play segment of the Western Australian Amateur with medalist honours going to Ben Seward from Cottesloe Golf Club after Seward fired a 1-under-par four round total to win by a shot over Michael Dennis and Stieger.

In making Western Australian Amateur final Stieger had victories over Cruze Strange, 5&3, Brady Watt, 5&4, and Michael Dennis, 2&1.

Chow qualified as the number 5 seed to make his first main amateur championship final following wins over Cameron Fabian, 3&2, Jamie Warman, 1-up.

Top-seed Seward was eliminated in the second round by Daniel Hoeve, 2&1, before Chow brought Hoeve’s first main championship aspirations to an end with a 4&3 win to set up today’s final encounter with Stieger.

Previous winners of the Western Australian Amateur have included Craig Parry (1984-85), Michael Sim (2002,2005), Rick Kulacz (2003), Stephen Dartnall (2006), Michael Foster (2007-8) and Jason Scrivener (2009).

Brody Ninyette won last year’s title at Royal Perth with a convincing, 8&7, victory over defending champion Jason Scrivener.