Stroud wins, Appleby 4th at Barracuda Championship

Stuart Appleby finished fourth at the Barracuda Championship in Reno on Sunday, in a tournament that is played under a modified stableford format with eight points awarded for an albatross, five for eagle, two for birdie, zero for par, and subtracts a point for bogey and three for double-bogey or worse.

America’s Chris Stroud beat fellow countryman Richy Werenski and England’s Greg Owen in a three-man play-off to win the tournament.

The trio were level on 44 points, which uses a modified Stableford scoring format.

Appleby, who last won at the Greenbrier Classic in 2010, was in contention throughout the tournament before finishing three points shy of the playoff.

His tied 4th result gave Appleby, a nine-time PGA Tour winner, his best placing since finishing second at the Barclays in 2014. His best performance in a major championship came in 2002, where he lost in a four-way playoff to Ernie Els at The Open Championship.

With many of the tour’s top players away at the World Golf Championship event in Akron, Ohio, it was the opportunity for players to boost their ranking and season earnings which is exactly what Appleby did.

Appleby’s result has all but assured him a place in the upcoming Tour finals series and the chance to compete for one of 25 PGA Tour cards for 2018.

Appleby started the week outside the top 200 on the FedEx Cup standings but has now moved to 189th with those finishing 126th to 200th eligible for the four tournament Series next month.

Appleby only needs to maintain his place through the final event of the PGA TOUR season, the Wyndham Championship in two week’s time, to tee up for a place on the 2018 PGA Tour.

Defending champion Greg Chalmers finished T18, four back with nine birdies lifting him 13 places up the leaderboard on Sunday.

Brett Drewitt was next best of the Australians in a tie for 45th position, Geoff Ogilvy, Peter Lonard and Curtis Luck all finishing in a share of 54th position with Matt Jones T59 and Aaron Baddeley 64th alone.

Cameron Percy, Robert Allenby and Steven Bowditch all missed the cut.