Top Aussie amateurs tee it up at World Amateur

The World Amateur Teams Championship gets underway this week in Ireland with the women competing for the Espirito Santo Trophy commencing on the 29th August with the men battling it out for the Eisenhower Trophy from September 5th.

The championship format sees each team with two or three players playing 18 holes of stroke play over four days.

Min Woo Lee Min Woo Lee (Credit: Anthony Powter)

In each round, the total of the two lowest scores from the teams constitutes the total score for the round. The four-day (72-hole) total is the team’s score for the championship.

For the 2018 championships, there will be a record number of entries for the Espirito Santo Trophy competition (58) and 71 entries for the Eisenhower Trophy competition, one shy of the record of 72 set in Turkey in 2012.

In Mexico in 2016, a total of 55 teams competed for the Women’s World Amateur Team Championship.

Most recently, South Korea won its fourth Espirito Santo Trophy by a record-equalling margin of 21 strokes with a 72-hole total of 29-under-par 547 in Mexico with the Australian men’s team won its fourth Eisenhower Trophy and World Amateur Team Championship by 19 strokes and tied the 72-hole scoring record of 38-under-par.

Prominent players who have participated include Tiger Woods, Rory McIlroy, Sergio Garcia, Phil Mickelson, Eduardo and Francesco Molinari and Rickie Fowler.

The Australian Teams for these championships include Min Woo Lee, David Micheluzzi and Shae Wools-Cobb who will attempt to defend the title won in 2016 by Cameron Davis, Harrison Endycott and Curtis Luck, with the Women’s team featuring Kirsty Hodgkins, Becky Kay and Grace Kim.