Top juniors on show in South Australia

The staging of the Australian Boys’ and Girls’ Amateur Championships gets underway tomorrow in South Australia with the Girls’s Championship being contested at Tea Tree Gully Golf Club with the Boys’ playing at Kooyonga Golf Club.

The Australian Boys’ and Girls’ Amateur Championship is open to players aged under 18 years as of 8 April 2015. The Championships are contested over 72-holes stroke play with a cut to the leading 60 players and ties after 36-holes for the Boys.

Ryan Ruffels Ryan Ruffels (Credit: Anthony Powter)

More than 230 players from across Australia, New Zealand, Japan, China and Korea have entered with Ryan Ruffels returning to defend his title.

Last year Ruffels fired rounds of 70-69-68-70 to finish at 11-under par, three clear of Blake Windred from NSW, who closed with a 4-under par 68. Victorian Brett Coletta finished third, three strokes further back.

Past winners of the Boys’ title include Anthony Murdaca (2013,10), Cameron Smith (2011), Adam Scott (1997-8), Jason Day (2004), Stuart Appleby and Robert Allenby.

In the Girls’ Championship last year Konomi Matsumoto, a member of Victoria Golf Club, finished with rounds of 71-76-76-77 to finish at 8-over to defeat Queenslander and Australian Amateur runner-up Karis Davidson by one with another Queenslander, Rebecca Kay in third place at 11-over par.

Minjee Lee (2013), Whitney Hiller (2008), Sarah Oh (2006) and Sarah Kemp (2003) are all former Girl’s winners.

The Junior Interstate Teams Championship will be held the following week, also in South Australia.